2014 Minimum Wage Increases

by Deborah Z Mark

.

 

Arizona’s minimum wage increased from $7.80 to $7.90 per hour as of January 1, 2014.  Minimum wage for tipped employees increased from $4.80 to $4.90 per hour. Employers are still responsible for paying tipped employees a total of $7.90 per hour, even if the employees do not claim enough tips to equal $7.90 per hour. 

Other States with Minimum Wage Increases

The following states also had or will have minimum wage increases in 2014:

  • California: (as of July 1, 2014) $9 per hour
  • Colorado: $8 per hour; tipped employees $4.98 per hour
  • Connecticut: $8.70 per hour.  Minimum wage for tipped bartenders remains $7.34 per hour.  Minimum wage for hotel & restaurant tipped employees (other than bartenders) remains $5.69 per hour.
  • Florida: $7.93 per hour; tipped employees $4.91 per hour
  • Missouri: $7.50 per hour; tipped employees $3.75 per hour
  • Montana: $7.90 per hour. Montana does not allow employers to take a tip credit against minimum wage for tipped employees.
  • New Jersey: $8.25 per hour; minimum wage for tipped employees remains at $2.13 an hour
  • New York: $8 per hour (effective December 1, 2013). Subject to certain caveats outside the hospitality industry, minimum wage for tipped employees will remain at $5 per hour for food service workers and $5.65 per hour for service employees.
  • Ohio: $7.95 per hour; tipped employees $3.98 per hour
  • Oregon: $9.10 per hour.  Oregon law does not allow employers to take a tip credit against minimum wage for tipped employees.
  • Rhode Island: $8 per hour; minimum wage for tipped employees remains at $2.89 per hour
  • Vermont: $8.73 per hour; tipped employees $4.23 per hour
  • Washington: $9.32 per hour. Washington law does not allow employers to take a tip credit against minimum wage for tipped employees.

Cities with minimum Wage Increases

Certain cities have also implemented minimum wage increases:

  • In California, San Francisco’s minimum wage increased to $10.74 per hour
  • San Jose’s increased to $10.15 per hour
  • In New Mexico, Albuquerque increased to $8.60 per hour; $7.60 per hour if the employer provides healthcare or childcare benefits to the employee during any pay period, and the employer pays an amount equal to or above an annualized cost of $2,500.  Minimum wage for tipped employees will increase to $5.16 per hour.

If you have any questions regarding employee wages, be sure to contact your managestaff HR Representative.

image: Gualberto107/freedigitalphotos.net